Making the most of what I have learned

This year has been interesting for many reasons; getting sick for the month of Jan, trying to find a job in February, finding a job on February 22, finding a place to live in Seattle, and starting the job in April.

Let me back track a little bit, I spent new year’s eve and day at my best friend’s house, 1st new year’s without my family around, then started to get sick with walking pneumonia while getting ready to go on a vacation to California. I got worse when I came back. The trip to Cali for amazing, I got to rent my 1st car. The car was a Chevy Malibu, this car was comfortable, rode nice, very quiet inside, easy access to the radio, when you step on the gas, it moves like a car is supposed to. I do recommend buying or renting a Malibu whenever someone can. That trip is what I needed to step away from my family, friends, and other commitments to back in touch with myself.

After I came back I started to look for a job, but my sickness got the better of me. I don’t wish this on anyone. There was chills, fever, coughing, and it sucked. Towards the start of February I was getting better and the whole month of Feb and part of Jan I applied to jobs. I must have applied to at least 20 or more. The interviews were always the funniest (that night be a word but oh well) there were one on one interviews and group ones.

I am not if anyone in the Clark County area or maybe it is just around Vancouver, Camas, and Washougal, but no one seemed to be hiring. If they were they were looking for something specific. That didn’t stop me, even though there was a tiny voice inside me that was saying “Quit, you’re not going to find anything.” I was not going to let the voice get bigger.

Finally I decided to try the airlines, I did try Portland, OR but nothing was coming up for positions that I either knew how to do or wanted to try. I think well I am not getting anywhere her in Washougal, I will try Seattle.

I found that Alaska Airlines was hiring and I got an interview. Know this Interview was different then the past ones I have done. Alaska Airlines used an app called HireVue. It is super easy to use. I got a code to get in, they have pre-recorded questions and it’s like facetime on your phone.

I did my interview and a couple days later I was invited to Seattle for a one on one interview. There were a lot of people, but I am one of the lucky ones. I am a ticket agent for Alaska Airlines, full time, full benefits after 30 days and more perks then I can think of.

The moral of this little story is never give up on what you want. If you want a job, go for it and keep having interviews, and if they say no then apply somewhere else, there will be a yes in the future. My mom never gave up wanting to work for a flagging company, she tried for 4 years and they finally let her in. My dad has been trying to start a business and he has been at it for 2 ½ years. My brother got a job last June and he tried for at least 2 or 3 months bugging the restaurant to hire him, he loves it.

Always go for your dream job, my dream job is to get paid while traveling the world. I am sort of doing that (I need to save for a little while). Maybe next year I will write about where I am going and document what to do, eat, stay, activities to do there. It won’t be always on the USA.

My goals that have been with me since about 2013 was to (1) Figure out how to move out of my Parent’s home; (2) How am I going to move out before my brother graduates high school (he will be done in June 2017); (3) Get a full time job with full benefits (medical, dental, etc.)

I have already paid off my car, gone to the Caribbean, gone to France, gone to England, flew on a plane on my own, and dealt with out of state property, and flew a small airplane.

All my goals above have been accomplished. What to do this year? My options are as open as they can be and I am ready for a new chapter.

This is quit long, if someone does read this, Thank you so much.

Peace out, MissCKS

Leave a comment